Magma’s 2013 Poetry Competion: closing date 12 Dec 2013

Magma Judge’s Prize 

Magma Editors’ Prize  for poems of up to 12 lines,  judged by a panel of Magma Editors comprising Julia Bird, Rob Mackenzie, Ian McEwen, Laurie Smith and Karen McCarthy Woolf.

Entry Fees: £5 for the first poem, £4 for the second and £3 for the third and each subsequent poem.  Magma magazine subscribers benefit from reduced fees.

For more information see

COMPAS Poetry Competition 2013, supported by Keble College. Closing date 11 Oct 2013

The topic is Poetry on the Move, “celebrating a decade of work in the field of migration“.

Judge: Ruth Padel.

First prize £700, second prize £200 and third prize £100.

Eligibility: residents of the UK and Ireland over the age of 18 (excluding organising and judging staff and their relations).

Up to 5 entries per person.More details on the COMPAS website.

Gulf Coast’s 2013 Barthelme Prize for Short Prose: closing date 31 Aug 2013

Judged by Robert Coover, closes for entries on August 31st.

Established in 2008, the winner is awarded $1,000 and publication in the journal. Two honorable mentions each receive $250 and will also be published. All entries are considered for paid publication on the Gulf Coast website

Information on how to enter is online here.

William Hazlitt Essay Prize (Notting Hill Editions): closing date 1 August 2013

Notting Hill Editions has launched an annual literary prize for the best essay in the English language, of between 2,000 and 8,000 words, published or unpublished, on any subject.

 The chair of judges is author and journalist Harry Mount. The other judges are Gaby Wood, Adam Mars-Jones, Lady Antonia Fraser, David Shields.
Entries between 2,000 and 8,000 words.
Entry fee £10.Award £15,000.
Five runners-up will each receive £1000.

Authors of any nationality are eligible, but submissions must have been written originally in English.
“If already published, the essay must have appeared for the first time in periodical (print or online) but not book form, between 1 January 2012 and 31 July 2013.”
 Further details on the website.